Seniors Rout Adare

 Mick Neville park in Rathkeale has not been a successful hunting ground for Ballysteen of late but last Saturday evening in front of a small attendence we brushed aside the challenge of Adare with one of our finest attacking displays in recent times.

The first half was not the best on view but points from the likes of the Mike Neville,James O’Meara and John Collins contributed towards a 6 points to one lead at half time. The lead could have been much greater only for several close wides but that was to be made up for in the second half.

The second half was a different story altogether and after Declan Nash scored a well taken goal in the opening few minutes of the half, the flood gates opened. Ballysteen played some fine attacking football and dominated in all areas of the field as the half progressed. Two further goals for Mike Neville and Shane Hallinan put us well out of sight and further points from the likes of Paudie Vaughan,Mark Ranahan and Sean Whelan helped us rack up an impressive tally of 3-8 in the second half.

Adare rarely threatened throughout the match and when they did the superb full back line of Rob Whelan,Packie Moran and Anthony Ryan  quickly snuffed out any threats. In midfield Shane Gallagher dominated and dictated proceedings while up front Mike Neville,Danny Neville and Shane Hallinan worked tirelessly. John Collins as ever showed great accuracy scoring points from frees and 45’s. This was a fine performance and overall and a welcome one also following back to back defeats against Fr.Caseys and St.Kierans.

The result also secured our Senior status for another year and the calculators will be at hand for our final group game against Newcastlewest. There could be a few permutations going into the final group game but a good win against Newcastlewest and with other results possibly going our way, a place in the Quarter finals is still quite possible. 

Team: Dan Fitzgerald, Anthony Ryan, Patrick Moran, Rob Whelan, James O’Meara (0-1), Pa Ranahan, Mark Ranahan (0-2), Paudie Vaughan (0-1), Shane Gallagher, Mike Neville (1-4), John Collins, Danny Neville, Shane Hallinan (1-0), Brendan Hayes (0-1), Declan Nash (1-0) Subs: Sean Whelan (0-1), Kevin McMahon