Newcastle West Deny Ballysteen Final Spot

A GOAL from James Kelly was the crucial score for Newcastle West on Friday night as they beat Ballysteen on a scoreline of 1-8 to 0-9 in the Limerick SFC semi-final

Kelly’s goal, two minutes into the second half, ensured Newcastle West qualified for the final for the second year running and they will meet Drom-Broadford in the final on Sunday, October 21.

Newcastle West were 0-7 to 0-5 up at the break but they pulled further clear when Kelly fisted to the net from close range – after his brother Stephen had hit the crossbar.

Ballysteen, who had surprised many by getting this far, refused to lie down and they clawed their way back into contention. However, the usually prolific Danny Neville missed a couple of chances to close the gap and Newcastle West hung on.

SCORERS – Newcastle West: James Kelly 1-1, Thomas Quilligan 0-3 (one free), Mike Quilligan (one free), Stephen Kelly, Seán McAuliffe, Michael O’Keeffe 0-1 each; Ballysteen: Danny Neville 0-4 (all frees), Ray Hayes 0-2, Brendan Hayes (one free), Pa Ranahan, Declan Nash 0-1 each

NEWCASTLE WEST – John Joe Sheehy; Michael O’Keeffe, Darragh Woods, Michael Dowling; Seán McAuliffe, Shaun Browne, Paul Hannan; Iain Corbett, Stephen Nix; Stephen Kelly, Shay Lyons, Jamie Lee; Thomas Quilligan, James Kelly, Michael Quilligan. SUBS: Brian O’Doherty for Shay Lyons (ht), Shane Kelly for James Kelly (45 mins), Gavin Reidy for Jamie Lee (51 mins), Brian O’Sullivan for Seán McAuliffe (57 mins).

BALLYSTEEN – Danny Fitzgerald; Kevin McMahon, Pakie Moran, Roger Somers; James O’Meara, Shane Gallagher, Pa Ranahan; Ray Hayes, Pádraig Vaughan; Declan Nash, Shane Hallinan, Mike Neville; Danny Neville, Brendan Hayes, Anthony Ryan. Sub: John Collins for Shane Hallinan.

REFEREE – Mike Meade (Ballylanders)

Article Courtest of Limerick Leader: